Dedicated to My Soul Food Vegans!

“It’s been a long time, I shouldn’t have left you…” 🙂

Good people, I so apologize for my tardiness in getting my posts out.  But I’m a mother before anything and life happens.  Internet goes down, a storm comes into town, I hosted an AWESOME workshop in my home…these last few months have been bam, bam, bam.  But I’m back with a delicious plate of food to share and a few recipes as well!

This plate is dedicated to my in house “Soul Food Vegan,” Knowledge–my partner in crime, rhyme & reason.  He was the first person that really pushed me into delving deeper into my cooking roots to find hearty, delicious foods that could be made vegan without loosing the “soul,” and without a bunch of faux meats, soy, and such. After this latest storm, Knowledge had to go work one of the shelters, so he was gone for a few days and when he came home, I wanted to show him how much me and the girls missed him.  This was his gift:
Image

 

On the plate: Potato Salad (no mayo, no eggs), Gar-licky Green Beans, Crowder Peas & Lima beans (small green limas) w/ Okra, Cornbread with some Chopped Red Onion and Tomato on the side.  I’ll share a couple of the recipes from off the plate 🙂

The green beans are from the can, because we stocked up on canned food to prepare for the storm, and I decided to use them.  The recipes can of course be used with fresh or frozen green beans.  If using frozen, I personally recommend thawing and draining first.

Gar-“licky” Green Beans
2 cans (drained/rinsed) or 1 pound of green beans
5 cloves of garlic minced
a little less than half an onion sliced
olive oil
salt/pepper to taste
Directions: In my iron skillet, on medium heat I heated about 2 tblsp of oil and sauteed the onion until clear, then I added the garlic, stir, add a little more oil if need be to prevent the garlic from burning.  Now add your green beans, stir.  Next, add and adjust seasonings to your liking. Turn up the heat just a bit, to saute the green beans. If you don’t have fresh garlic or onion or you simple don’t like to see them in your food. You can use garlic and onion powder. Crushed red pepper flakes would also be the bomb in these green beans!

My Cakey Corn (or Millet) Bread Recipe

I must really love y’all.  But for real, I share these recipes so that just as there is an abundance of old recipes including lard, butter, & eggs, we have to add to the Soul Food Vegan recipe canon as well.  So try it, and let me know what you think:

Ingredients:
2 cups yellow cornmeal (or ground Millet)
2 cups gluten free baking flour (or whole wheat flour)
1 cup of vegan sugar (Demerara, Tucanat, Rapadura, whatever’s your choice-I’ve also used 1/2 cup of honey or agave)
2 tbl egg replacer (I like Ener G) do not premix in water
2 tbl baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/2 cup of milk (rice, almond, hemp,etc.)
1 cup veg. oil/or melted veg. butter
1/4 cup warm water

Preheat oven 350
Grease baking pan/skillet
stir dry ingredients–set aside
beat together liquid ingredients, add to premixed ingredients
stir until smooth and most of lumps out
pour into baking dish (my iron skillet)
bake for 30-45 min.

When finished, ‘butter’ the top, sit aside for 5-10 minutes before cutting.

Enjoy your these last few days of summer y’all, and don’t forget to share & follow my blog!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dedicated to My Soul Food Vegans!

    • Thanks! To season my beans, I saute’ onion, garlic, bell pepper in a skillet with olive oil, I also added a diced pepper, cook it down and then when my pot of beans are cooked through, I add the sauteed veggies to the pot, then the cut okra. Then I salt & pepper to taste, and add a bay leaf, and simmer to the seasonings marry together–maybe about 10-15 more minutes.

Leave a Reply

